Royce Hotel History

Circa 1920s

What's behind the name?

The Royce Hotel was once renowned as Australia's most glamorous automobile showroom back in the 1920s. Formerly, Kellow Falkiner Pty Ltd Automobile Showroom.

A significant building with historical and architectural significance to the State of Victoria as described by Victorian Heritage Register.

In 1910 Kellow acquired the rights for the sales and service of Rolls-Royce motor car chassis in Victoria, a connection which the firm has maintained. Kellow was a personal friend of Royce.

The Former Kellow Falkiner Showrooms were built for Charles Kellow, a pioneering Australian motorist and car salesman, in 1928. The architect for the glamorous two storey building was Harry A Norris. Constructed of structural steel, brick and concrete, the showrooms are finished with terra cotta piers, frieze, lintels, window trim and machicolations. They feature large glass display windows. The showrooms were used by Kellow Falkiner until WW2, when they were altered internally to accommodate the air force as part of the Defence Forces grouping along St Kilda Road. In 1952 the building was occupied by the State Electricity Commission and in the 1970s by the Department of Civil Aviation.

The St Kilda Road frontage is now home to our new Signature Suites. The leadlight windows remain today and provide an abundance of natural light and character.

The heritage cornice displayed is now showcased within our two storey Loft Suites.

The Bromby Street frontage was tiled to match the remainder of the building.

The Bell boy awaits to escort you to the Bromby Street showroom through wrought iron gates and interlaced blue leather

These ceilings, tiles, light fittings and urns can all still be seen today. The Royce Hotel is proud of its rich history.